Capital: Darwin

Located in the ‘Top End’ of Australia, Darwin is Australia’s most northern capital city. Darwin has a population of 111,300 and a tropical climate.

State Nomination

States and Territories in Australia regularly review which skills are needed in a particular area to help boost the economy.

If you would like to live in the Northern Territory, the State Government may be able to nominate you for a Skilled Nominated subclass 190 visa, or a Skilled Regional Sponsored subclass 489 visa. This would allow you to live and work in either Darwin, or specific regions of the Territory.

Be sure to check whether you qualify before you apply for either of the State nominated visa streams, or you can remove any doubt by applying for a Skilled Migration assessment which will determine which Skilled Migration visas’ are available to you, and the steps you need to take in order to obtain them.

Regional Skilled Migration

The entire Northern Territory is considered a regional area for Skilled Migration purposes and as a Northern Territory Skilled Regional Nominated visa holder (489), or a Northern Territory Skilled Nominated (190) visa holder, you and your family can live anywhere within the Northern Territory.

The following regions are available for Skilled Migration:

  • Darwin Region: including Palmerston, Litchfield and surrounding areas
  • Nhulunbuy and the East Arnhem Region
  • Katherine and the Roper Gulf Region
  • Tennant Creek and the Barkly Region
  • Alice Springs and the Central Desert Region

Be sure to check whether you qualify before applying for regional skilled migration, or ask us to assess your eligibility for the skilled migration program.

Remember that DIAC limits the number of Northern Territory nominations for each migration program year in accordance with the State Migration Plan. The Northern Territory Government nominates eligible applicants having regard to the number of places available for people with occupations, skills and experience required in the Northern Territory.